Window Gazing: Tick, Tock, Tick, Tock

 

Window gazing is interrupted 

You can never fully see something 

when  your driving past it

i got out of the house today

to window gaze at cars, people

the busy commuters going to jobs

their life is routine, mine is not

life’s clock ticks away in my head

all day I hear its pounding

tick, tock, tick, tock

the world is moving on

the world will spin on without me

without me window gazing

catching people’s eye, men usually

my red lipstick shines through the glass

as I gaze, I have sun glasses on

so eye contact is only for me

its better that way, its safe

the world is so busy

people constantly giving their forever away

I want my forever to be what they have

ignorance on the clock 

tick, tock, tick, tock

they can not hear it like I do

their lives are too busy

I want to be too busy 

so I can not hear my body aging

so I can not hear the tick, tock, tick, tock

time surpasses us all

but for some of us, we know, we hear

the seconds passing, the minutes, the hours

long days and even longer nights

window gazing at the world

gazing so much I can feel the earth spinning beneath me

slowly, all the while….tick,tock,tick,tock

it’s a curse, the only pleasure

is to write down what I see 

what I see while gazing can disturb consciousness

again all the while, tick, tock, tick, tock 

Leave a Reply

